D&D3 XP vs. Shadowrun Karma

A forum for discussing all roleplaying games, from Shadowrun to Bunnies and Burrows. For clarity, please state the name of the game you're discussing in the subject line.
MooCow
Orbital Cow Gunner

D&D3 XP vs. Shadowrun Karma

Post by MooCow »

Ok... some crazy dingbat (Say hi IC) talked me into GMing D&D3. It's not that I have anything against the game, just not alot of XP with it (I used to GM AD&D all the time). I certainly prefer this edition to the previous ones. My primary game is Shadowrun, and it what I've been GMing for the past 5 years or so.

One of the things that I game up with in SR to encourage Roleplaying, was awarding a bit of extra Karma now and then for players who kept journals and adventure write-ups. These had to be written from the characters POV.

Now I want to do the same thing for my D&D game, but I'm not sure how much XP to give them.

In your "learned" opinions, how many XP points equals 1 Karma point? And does twice that much equal 2 Karma points?

Thanks for your thoughts.

MooCow
The XP giving cow
Lekkarion
Tasty Human

D&D exp awards

Post by Lekkarion »

Well, for me (I D&D3 a lot, running my own game currently)

Anyways, I have done that in the past, usually if a character writes up a good journal or something I usually gave them a 10% exp bonus for the level.

So each level they gain, they get more exp.

level 1- 100pts (cuz it's 1000 to level 2)
level 2- 200pts (cuz it's 2000 to level 3)
level 3- 300pts...(you get the idea by now)
etc. etc. etc.

since as they level they should be killing harder creatures, figuring out tougher mazes/traps/puzzles so they are earning more exp. On PB3 style of play, I also award usually bonus exp for good posts. Not usually more than 25 points per post for bonus exp and about 100 points a week if they post to every DM post. Anyways, that's just my system.