Gun Range Report: An afternoon of shooting

In the SST forum, users are free to discuss philosophy, music, art, religion, sock colour, whatever. It's a haven from the madness of Bulldrek; alternately intellectual and mundane, this is where the controversy takes place.
UncleJoseph
Wuffle Initiate

Gun Range Report: An afternoon of shooting

Post by UncleJoseph »

I have been needing to go to the gun range for several months. A few new guns to test fire, a few guns to sight-in with new optics. Here are the results:

Kahr CW9: This is my wife's new concealed carry gun. Kahr is the only manufacturer of firearm that has the proper ergonomics for my wife's very small hands. She can't reach the trigger on other guns if she has a proper grip. Originally purchased a PM9 for her, but due to the short barrel and stiff recoil spring, she couldn't shoot without jams. She shot some beautiful groups with the CW9 today using cheap ammo. No malfunctions and great accuracy...winner!

Kahr PM9: Originally purchased this as wife's concealed carry gun about a year ago. Wife shot this and experienced several jams...same result today. I shot about 50 rounds through it without a single malfunction. The last time we shot this gun, I never had a malfunction. I shot some good combat groups today, so this will become my primary concealed carry gun. Determined she was "short-stroking" the gun due to the extra short barrel and short/heavy recoil spring.

Smith & Wesson M&P 9mm: This is my newest firearm...bought it back in late November. Shoots like a dream. I carry a Glock on duty, and have done so for 12 years. The S&W is a little less "tight" in feel/operation, but I can shoot the S&W faster and more accurately. I boil this all down to ergonomics. The Glock has terrible ergonomics for my hand. The M&P feels like it was made for me. S&W has finally built a semi-auto that measures up to the others. This is my off-duty practice/range gun.