Worked on tooling for my airplane today.

In the SST forum, users are free to discuss philosophy, music, art, religion, sock colour, whatever. It's a haven from the madness of Bulldrek; alternately intellectual and mundane, this is where the controversy takes place.
UncleJoseph
Wuffle Initiate

Worked on tooling for my airplane today.

Post by UncleJoseph »

Got some work done on my airplane project today. I've been studying the blueprints for several months now, and I realized that I simply could not do the job from scratch without a sheet metal brake. Brakes are extremely expensive. Even a "cheap" Chinese-built Harbor Freight Special is $200 for a 3' brake. Better quality ones are much more expensive. I needed a smallish one for my basement workshop, so I headed to Home Depot today to buy supplies. I built it up out of angle iron, square tubing and a piano hinge. I spent less than $100, and I have a brake that will do up to 4' bends in sheet metal. I bent a piece of scrap aluminum, and it works quite well.

I have to add a few finishing touches, but it will bend most thicknesses of aluminum I'll be working with, and put in the 1/8" radius called for in the blueprints. Now I just need to order some aluminum and make my forming blocks and I'll have an airplane in no time (well, probably 3+ years minimum). The beauty of this type of brake, other than the price, is that it's portable. As long as I have a sturdy bench to work on it'll go just about anywhere. I'll be building an 8' version to do my wing skins and other longer bends. That will go in my garage workshop.

I was going to post pictures here, but they're too big, and I don't feel like re-sizing them and then uploading again.

But you can look at my airplane building blog here:

Zenith Aero Blog
If you take away their comforts, people are just like any other animal.
Bonefish
Bulldrek Pusher

Post by Bonefish »

Joe, have i ever told you how much I effin' love you?